GPPN: Thinking Public Policy Webinar Series

Global Public Policy Network
Group Calls
Climate Change and Sustainability
featuring faculty from GraSPP, Hertie, LKYSPP, LSE and Sciences Po

21 Feb 2022
7am New York | 9am São Paulo | 12pm London | 1pm Paris/Berlin 
8pm Singapore | 9pm Tokyo

Massive flooding in Germany. Typhoons in Asia. Heatwaves and wildfires in Europe, Australia and North America. Even as climate impacts intensify and affect more people, goals like net zero emissions and limiting global warming to 1.5˚C seem more and more unreachable. What are the decisions and policies now required from all levels of government to combat climate change?

With COP26 still fresh in the mind, how should policymakers, policy professionals and students of public policy now approach the climate problem? Should we look to governance, trade or diplomacy to move the needle? Will sustainability emerge as a new ‘organising principle' of policy? If so, what might that practically mean?

 

Hear from and question thinkers and practitioners who have negotiated climate pacts, advised world leaders and authored seminal works on climate, sustainability, energy and the environment.

 Speaker 

Arima Jun.jpg

Jun ARIMA is Project Professor at GraSPP, the University of Tokyo. Throughout his career in METI (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry) for 36 years, he was deeply involved in international energy and climate policies including the assignment to the IEA and participation in the UN climate talks. He is also Project Leader, 21st Century Public Policy Institute, Consulting Fellow Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry (RIETI), Distinguished Senior Research Fellow, Asia Pacific Institute of Research (APIR), Senior Policy Fellow, Economic Research Institute of ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA), Lead Author of the IPCC 6th Assessment Report.

Jun Arima

 Speaker 

Ben Cashore.png

Benjamin Cashore

Ben Cashore specialises in global and multi-level environmental governance, comparative public policy and administration, and transnational business regulation/corporate social responsibility. His substantive research interests include climate policy, biodiversity conservation/land use change, and sustainable environmental management of forests and related agricultural sectors. His geographic focus includes Southeast Asia, North America, Latin America and Europe.

Ben’s theoretical interests include the influence of economic globalisation on domestic environmental policies, the legitimacy and authority requirements of non-state market driven (NSMD) global governance, the and the potential of anticipatory policy design for identifying path dependent policy mixes capable of ameliorating “super wicked” environmental problems.”

 Speaker   

Christian Flachsland.jpg

Christian Flachsland is Professor of Sustainability and Founding Director of the Centre for Sustainability at the Hertie School. He is also a Research Fellow at the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC), where he previously worked as a group leader. His research focuses on the design, governance and political economy of climate, energy and sustainability policy.

Christian Flachsland

Speaker

Nick-Rowley_edit.jpg

Nick has worked on environment, climate and wider public policy in Australia, the UK, and internationally. For two years he worked at Downing Street advising PM Tony Blair on climate change and sustainability. Nick played a vital role prior to the G8 meeting at Gleneagles in 2005: the first time that climate was placed on the agenda for heads of State. Following the G8, Nick advised on the establishment of the seminal Stern Review into the Economics of Climate Change.

Nicky Rowley

Moderator

Charlotte HALPERN.jpg

Dr. Charlotte Halpern, holds a PhD in political science and is a tenured researcher at the Centre for European studies and comparative politics, Sciences Po (Paris). Her main research interest is State restructuring and policy change in Europe. She has done extensive comparative research on infrastructure and environmental policies. Her current research examines the role of politics and policies in processes of ecological transitions in European cities, with a specific attention to energy and transport. She is the co-director of the Environmental policy Group at LIEPP and a board member of the Centre for Earth politics (Sciences Po & Université de Paris).

Charlotte Halpern